Some things to know about Delhi University

University of Delhi is recognized as the biggest university of India which is also known as Delhi University, It is a public central university which is located in New Delhi, India. was founded in 1922 by an Act of the Central Legislative Assembly.

University of Delhi is recognized as the biggest university of India which is also known as Delhi University,Guest Posting It is a public central university which is located in New Delhi, India. Delhi University was founded in 1922 by an Act of the Central Legislative Assembly.

The main functions of this university are divided between the academic departments of the university and affiliated colleges. Under Delhi University there were three colleges, two faculties, and 750 students at its founding and the University of Delhi has since become India’s largest institution of higher learning and listed among the largest in the world.

The university currently has 16 faculties and 86 departments which is distributed across its North and South campuses. Almost 3 lakhs of students studies in both campuses, The Vice President of India is the Vice Chancellor of Delhi University.

History of Delhi University:

Delhi University was established in 1922 as a teaching and residential university by the Britshers.

Delhi University was to be named as Prince Charles University but thanks to Rai Kedarnath who was a counselor to the Chief Commissioner of Delhi at that time and he also founded Ramjas College and is known as the founder of this college.

He suggested the name of that university as Delhi University, Hari Singh Gour served was the university’s first vice chancellor of this university from 1922 to 1926.

But at that time only four colleges existed in Delhi and they are St. Stephen’s College, Hindu College, Zakir Husain Delhi College and Ramjas College founded in 1917, and at that time this university had two faculties and approximately 750 numbers of students.

The silver jubilee year of the university happened in 1947 when India got freedom and the national flag was hoisted in the main building for the first time by Vijayendra Kasturi Ranga Varadaraja Rao but in that year no convocation ceremony was done due to the partition of India, But a special ceremony was held in 1948, the then Prime Minister of India Jawaharlal Nehru attended the function. Twenty five years later the golden jubilee celebrations of 1973 were attended by the then Prime Minister of India Indira Gandhi, Satyajit Ray, Amrita Pritam and M. S. Subbulakshmi.


There are 90 colleges and 16 faculties affiliated to the University of Delhi which is spread across Delhi.

North Campus and South Campus serve as the two main campuses of the University.


North Campus has three founding colleges of the university which constituted the University of Delhi at the time when it was founded. North campus proper now has 13 colleges geographically centred on the Faculty of Arts, Science , Law and Management and the name if those colleges are Kirori Mal College, Daulat Ram College, Hansraj College, Hindu College, Lady Irwin College, Indraprastha College for Women, Miranda House, Shaheed Sukhdev College of Business Studies , SGTB Khalsa College. Ramjas College, Shri Ram College of Commerce, Satyawati College, Lakshmibai College, Shyam Lal College and Maharaja Agrasen College. The extended off campus also has colleges in the Ashok Vihar, Pitampura, Rajouri Garden and Netaji Subhash Place neighborhoods of Delhi. The campus also houses other centres and institutes of Delhi which include the Cluster Innovation Centre , Delhi School of Economics and Delhi School Of Journalism and also the Ambedkar Center for Biomedical Research (ACBR).


Delhi University started it’s south campus in 1973 as an effort to cope with its expansion. It moved to its current location on Benito Juarez Marg, near Dhaula Kuan, in 1984. The campus is spread across 28 hectares. The various departments are located in the Faculty of Arts, Interdisciplinary, Applied Sciences and the S.P. Jain Centre for Management Studies. South Campus has the following colleges: Lady Shri Ram College, Gargi College, Aryabhatta College, Atma Ram Sanatan Dharma College, College of Vocational Studies, Ramanujan College, Deshbandhu college, Dyal Singh College, Jesus and Mary College, Maitreyi College, MotiLal Nehru College, Ram Lal Anand College, Pannalal Girdharlal Dayanand Anglo Vedic College, Sri Aurobindo College, Shaheed Bhagat Singh College, Delhi College of Arts and Commerce, Sri Venkateswara College, Shivaji College, Rajdhani College and Acharya Narendra Dev College.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Some things to know about Delhi University